Information on the UAE and RAK

International Programs and Partnerships

Information on the UAE and RAK

 

Culture & History

“Our experiment in federation, in the first instance, arose from a desire to increase the ties that bind us, as well as from the conviction of everyone that they were part of one family, and that they must gather under one leadership.” His Highness Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan al Nahyan

The United Arab Emirates is a land full of positive contradictions. It is a place of tradition and community yet it is one of the most modern countries in the world. Some hold fabulous wealth and enjoy incredible prosperity, while many people from all over the world come to earn a livelihood to send home to family living in challenging socio-economic environments. It is a devoutly Islamic country yet it does not deny others the right to practice their beliefs. In a region beset by conflict, the UAE stands firm for peace and is one of the safest places in the world to live.

One of the reasons for the UAE’s success is the strong Bedouin heritage of the Emiratis. Proud and noble and living off the land in a profoundly hardy way, the Arabs of this area thrived for thousands of years. Strict customs that welcomed and protected guests and insisted on homage to tribal and religious beliefs are all part of the unique Emirati history and communal code of ethics.

Another reason for success is the leadership of the former ruler, His Highness Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, who passed away in 2004. Sheikh Zayed is credited with forging the modern state of the UAE and is revered as the ideal of a wise and charitable leader. He used the oil wealth for the betterment of his people and he created the modern state of the United Arab Emirates. His son, His Highness Sheikh Khaifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan is the current ruler of the United Arab Emirates

The Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah

“The people of Ras Al Khaimah through history have prospered only by being traders, navigators and this is what we are trying to do now – mimic this path with modern tools.” His Highness Sheikh Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi

Ras Al Khaimah is a prosperous emirate in the northern most part of the United Arab Emirates. This emirate has enjoyed good governance from its ruling family. The ruler of RAK, as this emirate is often known, is His Highness Sheikh Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi. His Highness Sheikh Saud, a graduate of the University of Michigan with a degree in economics and political science, is an astute economic and political leader. The emirate has developed rapidly under his tenure in the last decade. Through the Ras Al Khaimah Investment Authority, industry in the emirate has seen marked growth. Companies such as RAK Ceramics and Julphar Pharmaceuticals are highly successful and well-known. Tourism has also increased dramatically with several high profile international luxury resorts, including the Waldorf Astoria, Cove Rotana, and Banyan Tree making RAK their home. Shiekh Saud is the founder of the American University of Ras Al Khaimah.

Pre-Departure Orientation (PDO) 

Please click on the video link for PDO information regarding cultural information in the emirate of Ras Al Khaimah and at the American University of Ras Al Khaimah.  This video should be viewed before your arrival on campus to assist in your knowledge of behavior and attitudes as well as things to do and issues to avoid.  

Women in RAK and at AURAK

Women have a valued place in RAK society as they do in all of the UAE. They are encouraged to obtain an education and are offered employment and positions of leadership in business, government, sciences and the arts. More and more Emirati women are venturing into the work force as they desire to add to the development of the UAE. You will see Emirati women working in various organizations around town. Many of our AURAK students are Emirati women.

The vast majority of Emirati women wear a sheila, or a head covering, and an abaya, or long black outer dress worn over other clothing. Some women choose to cover their faces as well as their hair.

There are also many non-locals women working and assisting with the development of this Emirate. Many hail from the Philippines, Russia, Malaysia, India, and other countries in the Middle East and North Africa region as well as other nations. Women in RAK tend to cover their arms and legs but wear decidedly modern clothing. Some may also cover their hair depending on their religious background.

At the American University of Ras Al Khaimah classes are coed. This is not the case with every university in the UAE. Students may freely mingle on the campus and interact with faculty, staff, and students. There is a vibrant academic life at AURAK and female students contribute to the various schools and departments. Female students and faculty and staff from all countries are valued and welcomed at AURAK.

Religion

Islam is the official religion of the United Arab Emirates. The Islamic holy day each week is Friday. Classes are closed on Friday and Saturday, which is considered the weekend. There is a mosque on campus for worship. The Islamic holy month of Ramadan changes from year to year in terms of the exact dates. It lasts between 29 to 30 days. From sun up to sun down Muslims will refrain from any food or drink. After the sun sets they break their long fast with a traditional dinner each night known as Iftar. Non-Muslims show respect for this holy period by not eating or drinking in public during the daylight hours. Ramadan is a special time to be in the UAE and if you are lucky, you will be invited to one of the numerous Iftars on campus or around town. Here you will enjoy the honored position of guest and enjoy amazing hospitality.

Transportation

There are numerous taxis in Ras Al Khaimah. Unlike many other countries, taxis in the UAE are relatively inexpensive. The taxis are not individually owned, rather they are owned and managed by a licensed company. Driver’s wear uniforms and must obey traffic laws. It is possible to rent a car for an extended period such as a month and the usual cost for a monthly rental is between $500 and $600 US or 1,825 and 2,200 dirhams, which is the local UAE currency. However, driving in another country can be challenging and the emirate of RAK is no exception. It is easiest just to call a taxi when venturing around town.

Medical Care

Insurance is required for your study abroad/exchange period with AURAK. Most doctors are based in a hospital in the UAE and not in a private practice office. Major hospitals in RAK are listed below and appointments may be made online. One may receive top notch health care in the UAE and in RAK. Pharmacies are in many locations and often one does not need a prescription from a doctor to obtain medicine. The pharmacist is authorized to dispense certain medications.

RAK Hospital

http://www.rakhospital.com/

Saqr Hospital

Obaidullah Hospital

Sha’m Hospital

Restaurants

There are many popular restaurants in Ras Al Khaimah reflecting the diversity of the inhabitants. One can dine on Moroccan, Chinese, Lebanese, Sushi and many other cuisines. There are also many different levels, from fine dining at a resort hotel, to a casual food place at the mall.

A note on the alcohol policy in the UAE. Alcohol is not widely distributed at all restaurants. Alcohol is served in restaurants located in hotels or golf clubs. This is customary. Public displays of intoxication are strictly prohibited. Alcohol may be purchased at special stores only.

Please follow this helpful link to restaurants in RAK

Shopping

Shopping, in like so many countries, is a popular past time in RAK. Perhaps more so in the summer when the temperatures soar. The many malls in RAK and in the other Emirates can be a lovely way to beat the heat. There is no tax on sale of goods in the UAE. Please note that shorts and tank tops are considered disrespectful outside of the beach and could result in security asking you to use discretion during your next shopping experience. Please see the link below of malls and shopping outlets in RAK.

http://yp.theemiratesnetwork.com/browse/shopping_malls_and_centers/united_arab_emirates-rk-ras_al_khaimah/

For more traditional Arab handicrafts, carpets, or gold, try one of the old Souks (market).

Grocery Stores/Supermarkets

There are a number of large grocery store chains in RAK. They carry many western and eastern items. Some of the most well-known are Spinneys, Choithrams, Carrefore, Al Aswaq, Al Wadi, just to name a few. The western owned grocery stores will carry pork products in a special room in the back. Alcohol is not sold in grocery stores/supermarkets.

Volunteer Opportunities

Want a deeper more meaningful experience in your life – then volunteer. Volunteer opportunities abroad allow one another avenue to connect with a place and its people. Be a positive ambassador for your home country by volunteering in the UAE. The Department of International Programs and Partnerships will assist you in your volunteer service request.

The Red Crescent Society

Just like its counterpart The Red Cross, this is a humanitarian organization whose volunteers help in cases of war, natural disaster, and community health.

http://www.rcuae.ae/RasAlKhaimah_en.aspx

Ras Al Khaimah Animal Welfare Center

If you enjoy caring for animals, then the RAKAWC is for you. This non-profit is sponsored by His Highness Sheikh Suad bin Saqr Al Qasimi and is funded by the government of Ras Al Khaimah. Opened in 2010 it allows for the care and rescue of primarily dogs and cats.

http://rakawc.com/who-we-are/about-us.html

Beit Al Khair Society

Charitable foundation caring for those in need such as widows, orphans, low income families, the elderly, etc… The organization offers many projects some that run exclusively during Ramadan and others that operate year round.

http://beitalkhair.org/en/

Our Campus

American University of
Ras Al Khaimah Road,
Ras al Khaimah, UAE
PO Box: 10021

Contact Us

Tel. :  + 971 7 2210 900
Fax :  
+ 971 7 2210 300
Mail:  info@aurak.ac.ae

Follow AURAK on:

Facebook   Tweeter   Youtube   Google Scholar
Instagram   Linked in   Location

Downloads

App Store

Google

Virginia-State-University-001
University-of-the-West-of-England-001
University-of-Illinois-Urbana-Champaign-001
University-of-Limerick-001
University-of-Social-Sciences-and-Humanities
Universiti-Teknologi-Mara
University-of-California-Irvine
The-Lincoln-University
Uni-of-Nebraska-at-Kearney
Universitat-de-Barcelona
Sudan-University-of-Science-and-Technology
SUNY---Albany
Pazmany-Peter-Catholic-University
RAKMHSU
St.-Francis-Xavier-University
La-Rochelle-Business-School
Institut-Catholique-de-Paris
Karlshochschule-International-University
Konkuk-University
Hong-Kong-University-of-Science-and-Technology
George-Mason-University
California-State-University---San-Bernardino
Brock-University
Bowling-Green-State-University
Appalachian-State-University

Select Page
[rev_slider alias=”SL1″]

الصفحة الرئيسيّة  » الطلاب » خدمات الدعم الأكاديمي » البرامج الدولية » معلومات عن دولة الإمارات وإمارة رأس الخيمة

معلومات عن دولة الإمارات وإمارة رأس الخيمة

 

الثقافة والتاريخ

“إن تجربتنا الوحدوية نبعت في المقام الأول من الرغبة في زيادة الروابط التي تجمعنا، ومن إيمان الجميع بأنهم جزء من أسرة واحدة ويجب أن يجتمعوا تحت قيادة واحدة”. صاحب السمو الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان

دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي أرض مليئة بالتناقضات الإيجابية. فهي بلد تقاليد ومجتمع محلي وفي نفس الوقت واحد من أكثر البلدان تقدماً في العالم. البعض يملك ثروة مذهلة ويحظى بنجاح لا يوصف، بينما يأتي الكثير من الناس من جميع أنحاء لكسب رزقهم ويرسلوا دخلهم إلى أسرهم في بلدانهم الأصلية التي تعيش في بيئات اجتماعية اقتصادية صعبة. وهو بلد إسلامي ملتزم، وفي نفس الوقت لا ينكر على الآخرين حق ممارسة معتقداتهم الدينية. وفي منطقة محفوفة بالصراعات، تقف الإمارات ثابتة من أجل السلام وهي واحدة من أكثر الدول أماناً في العالم.

ومن أحد أسباب نجاح دولة الإمارات الإرث البدوي القوي لدى الإماراتيين. وقد ازدهر العرب في هذه المنطقة لآلاف السنين وهم يعيشون مما تجود به الأرض محافظين على عزتهم ومروءتهم. وتعتبر التقاليد الصارمة التي ترحب بالضيوف وتحميهم وتلتزم بالولاء للمعتقدات القبلية والدينية جزءاً من التاريخ الفريد والقانون الأخلاقي الجمعي الإماراتي.

ومن أسباب النجاح أيضاً قيادة الرئيس الراحل صاحب السمو الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان الذي توفي في عام 2004. ويُنسَب الفضل للشيخ زايد في بناء دولة الإمارات العصرية، كما يحظى بالاحترام والتبجيل بوصفه مثال القائد الحكيم المحب للخير، فقد استخدم الثروة النفطية لصالح شعبه وأنشأ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الحديثة. وابنه، صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان هو الرئيس الحالي لدولة الإمارات.

إمارة رأس الخيمة

“عاش أهل رأس الخيمة في الماضي وبرعوا في التجارة وعمل البحر، وهذا ما نحاول فعله في وقتنا الحالي – السير على نفس الطريق بأدوات عصرية”. صاحب السمو الشيخ سعود بن صقر القاسمي. 

إمارة رأس الخيمة هي إمارة مزدهرة تقع في أقصى شمال دولة الإمارات. حاكم رأس الخيمة هو صاحب السمو الشيخ سعود بن صقر القاسمي، وسموه خريج جامعة ميشيغان ويحمل شهادة في الاقتصاد والعلوم السياسية، وهو قائد اقتصادي وسياسي محنك. وقد تطورت الإمارة على نحو متسارع في ظل حكمه خلال العقد الماضي. وقد شهدت الصناعة في الإمارة نمواً ملحوظاً من خلال هيئة رأس الخيمة للاستثمار. وفيها شركات حققت نجاحاً كبيراً وشهرة مثل “سيراميك رأس الخيمة” و”جلفار للصناعات الدوائية”. وازدادت السياحة كذلك بشكل كبير مع إنشاء العديد من المنتجعات الدولية الفارهة مثل والدورف أستوريا، كوف روتانا، وبنيان تري، في إمارة رأس الخيمة.

معلومات توجيهية قبل القدوم

يرجى النقر على رابط الفيديو للاطلاع على معلومات توجيهية قبل القدوم تخص المعلومات الثقافية في إمارة رأس الخيمة والجامعة الأمريكية في رأس الخيمة. وينبغي مشاهدة هذا الفيديو قبل وصولكم إلى الجامعة ليساعدكم في معلوماتكم المتعلقة بالسلوك وطرق التعامل وكذلك الأشياء التي يجب فعلها والأمور الواجب تجنبها.

المرأة في رأس الخيمة وفي الجامعة الأمريكية في رأس الخيمة

تحظى المرأة بمكانة محترمة في مجتمع رأس الخيمة كما في كامل دولة الإمارات. حيث تتلقى تشجيعاً على التعلم وتحصل على وظائف ومواقع قيادية في قطاعات الأعمال والحكومة والعلوم والفنون. وتتجه المزيد من النساء الإماراتيات للانخراط في العمل نتيجة رغبتهن في الإسهام في تطور الإمارات. وسترون نساء إماراتيات يعملن في العديد من المؤسسات في المدينة. كما أن العديد من طلاب الجامعة الأمريكية في رأس الخيمة هم من النساء الإماراتيات.

ترتدي الغالبية العظمى من النساء الإماراتيات الشيلة، أي غطاء الرأس، والعباية، وهي ثوب أسود طويل يلبس فوق ملابس أخرى. وبعض النساء تخترن أن تغطين وجوههن إضافة إلى تغطية رؤوسهن. وهنالك أيضاً الكثير من النساء من غير المواطنات اللاتي يعملن ويسهمن في تطور هذه الإمارة، والكثيرات منهن ياتين من الفلبين وروسيا وماليزيا والهند وغيرها من بلدان الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، وغيرها من الدول. عادة ما تغطي النساء في رأس الخيمة أذرعهن وأسواقهن لكن يرتدين ملابس عصرية. كما يمكن أن تغطي البعض شعورهن وفقاً لخلفيتهن الدينية.

الحصص التعليمية في الجامعة الأمريكية في رأس الخيمة مختلطة. وهذا الأمر لا ينطبق على جميع الجامعات في الإمارات. وبإمكان الطلاب أن يتواصلوا بحرية في الحرم الجامعي وأن يتفاعلوا مع الهيئة التدريسية والكوادر العاملة والطلاب. وهنالك حياة أكاديمية نابضة بالحياة في الجامعة الأمريكية في رأس الخيمة وتسهم الطالبات في مختلف الكليات والأقسام. ترحب الجامعة الأمريكية في رأس الخيمة بالطالبات وبالكوادر التدريسية من النساء من جميع البلدان.

الدين

الإسلام هو الدين الرسمي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ويوم العطلة الدينية الأسبوعية هو الجمعة، ويعتبر يوما الجمعة والسبت عطلة نهاية الأسبوع. يوجد مسجد في الحرم الجامعي من أجل الصلاة. ويأتي شهر رمضان المبارك في وقت مختلف من عام إلى عام، حيث أنه يتبع السنة القمرية الإسلامية، ويدوم ما بين 29 – 30 يوماً. وفيه يمتنع المسلمون عن الطعام والشراب من الشروق حتى غياب الشمس. وبعد مغيب الشمس ينهون صيامهم الطويل بتناول وجبة عشاء تقليدية كل مساء ويسمونها الإفطار. ويمتنع غير المسلمين عن الأكل والشرب في العلن خلال ساعات النهار احتراماً  لهذا الشهر الفضيل. يشكل رمضان وقتاً مميزاً في الإمارات، وإن كنت محظوظاً قد تتلقى دعوة إلى إحدى موائد الإفطار العديدة المنتشرة في الحرم الجامعي أو في باقي أنحاء المدينة، حيث ستحظى بمكانة الضيف المقدَّرة وتشعر بكرم الضيافة.

التنقل

هنالك الكثير من مركبات الأجرة في رأس الخيمة. وتعتبر سيارات الأجرة في الإمارات غير مكلفة نسبياً إذا ما قورنت بدول عديدة أخرى. وهذا المركبات ليست مملوكة لأفراد بل مملوكة ومدارة من قبل شركة مرخصة. ويرتدي السائقون زياً موحداً وعليهم الالتزام بقوانين المرور.

من الممكن استئجار سيارة لمدة مطولة حتى شهر مثلاً، وتتراوح التكلفة ما بين 500 دولار و600 دولار (1825 درهم إلى 2200 درهم). إلا أن القيادة في بلد أجنبي قد تكون صعبة، وهذا ينطبق على إمارة رأس الخيمة أيضاً. ومن الأسهل أن تطلب مركبة أجرة إذا أردت زيارة أنحاء المدينة.

الرعاية الطبية

التأمين الطبي مطلوب أثناء فترة دراستك الخارجية/ فترة برنامج التبادل التي تقضيها في الجامعة الأمريكية في رأس الخيمة. معظم الأطباء يعملون ضمن مستشفيات في الإمارات، وليس ضمن عيادة خاصة. وفيما يلي قائمة بأهم المستشفيات في رأس الخيمة، حيث يمكن تسجيل المواعيد عبر الإنترنت. الصيدليات متوفرة في عدة مواقع وغالباً لا تحتاج إلى وصفة من طبيب لشراء الدواء، فلدى الصيادلة صلاحية صرف أدوية معينة.

مستشفى رأس الخيمة (http://www.rakhospital.com)
مستشفى صقر
مستشفى عبيد الله
مستشفى شعم

المطاعم

هنالك العديد من المطاعم الشهيرة في رأس الخيمة والتي تعكس تنوع السكان. فيستطيع المرء أن يتناول الطعام المغربي أو الصيني أو اللبناني أو الياباني أو الكثير من المطابخ الأخرى. وهنالك عدة مستويات مختلفة، بدءاً بالمطاعم الفاخرة في الفنادق والمنتجعات، وصولاً إلى المطاعم العادية في مراكز التسوق. الرجاء زيارة هذا الرابط المفيد للمطاعم في رأس الخيمة.

لا توزع المشروبات الكحولية على نطاق واسع في جميع المطاعم. حيث يتم تقديم المشروبات الكحولية في المطاعم الموجودة في الفنادق أو نوادي الجولف. وقد جرت العادة على هذا. ويُمنع بشكل قاطع الظهور علناً في حالة السُكر. ويمكن شراء المشروبات الكحولية في متاجر خاصة فقط.

التسوق

يعتبر التسوق من العادات الرائجة التي يمارسها الناس في أوقات الفراغ في رأس الخيمة، وربما يُقبِلون على التسوق بشكل أكبر في فصل الصيف مع ارتفاع درجات الحرارة. إذ يمكن لمراكز التسوق العديدة في رأس الخيمة والإمارات الأخرى أن تكون وسيلة محببة للتغلب على الحرارة. ليس هناك ضرائب على بيع السلع في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ويرجى ملاحظة أن السراويل القصيرة والقمصان بلا أكمام تعتبر غير لائقة خارج الشاطئ وقد تؤدي لأن يطلب منك عناصر الأمن ارتداء ملابس محتشمة في المرة القادمة التي تخرج فيها للتسوق. الرجاء الاطلاع على الرابط أدناه لمراكز التسوق ومنافذ التسوق في رأس الخيمة – http://yp.theemiratesnetwork.com/browse/shopping_malls_and_centers/united_arab_emirates-rk-ras_al_khaimah

للمزيد من المشغولات اليدوية التقليدية العربية، أوالسجاد، أو الذهب، يمكنكم زيارة أحد الأسواق التقليدية.

محلات البقالة / السوبر ماركت

هنالك عدد من سلاسل متاجر البقالة الكبيرة في رأس الخيمة، والتي تحوي العديد من البضائع الغربية والإقليمية. ومن بعض المتاجر الأكثر شهرة “سبينس”، و”شويترامز”، و”كارفور” و”الأسواق”. وتُسوّق محلات البقالة المملوكة من الأجانب منتجات لحوم الخنزير في غرفة خاصة في الخلف. ولا تباع المشروبات الكحولية في محلات البقالة والسوبر ماركت.

فرص التطوع

تتيح لك فرص التطوع في الخارج أن تتواصل مع المكان وشعبه. فلتكن سفيراً إيجابياً لبلدك من خلال العمل التطوعي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وسيساعدك قسم البرامج والشراكات الدولية في طلب الخدمة التطوعية الخاص بك.

جمعية الهلال الأحمر

على غرار نظيرتها “الصليب الأحمر”، تعتبر هذه الجمعية منظمة ًإنسانية يقدم متطوعوها يد المساعدة في حالات الحروب والكوارث الطبيعية ومشاكل الصحة المجتمعية.

http://www.rcuae.ae/RasAlKhaimah_en.aspx

مركز رأس الخيمة للرعاية الحيوانية

بحال كنت تستمتع برعاية الحيوانات، فإن مركز رأس الخيمة للرعاية الحيوانية (RAKAWC) هو ما تبحث عنه. وتحظى هذه المنظمة غير الربحية برعاية من قبل صاحب السمو الشيخ سعود بن صقر القاسمي ويتم تمويلها من قبل حكومة رأس الخيمة. ويتيح المركز الذي تم افتتاحه في عام 2010، رعاية وإنقاذ الكلاب والقطط في المقام الأول.

rakawc.com/who-we-are/about-us.html

جمعية بيت الخير

هي مؤسسة خيرية تعنى برعاية المحتاجين، كالأرامل والأيتام، والأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض، وكبار السن. وتقدم المنظمة العديد من المشاريع، بعضها تتم خلال شهر رمضان فقط، وبعضها الآخر على مدار العام.

http://beitalkhair.org/en

الحرم الجامعي

 

شارع الجامعة الأمريكية في رأس الخيمة
10021 : صندوق بريد

اتصل بنا

 

+ 971 7 2210 900 : هاتف
+ 971 7 2210 300 : فاكس
 info@aurak.ac.ae : البريد الالكتروني 

تابع الجامعة الأمريكية في رأس الخيمة عبر

 

Facebook   Tweeter   Youtube   Google Scholar
Instagram   Linked in   Location