AURAKSAT-1 (MeznSat)

Overview 

Designing and building a satellite, even one the size of a CubeSat, is a very complex task, combining multiple engineering disciplines and skills. The project provides Emirati students with a hands-on design, build, test, and operations experience working on a real satellite project. Its interdisciplinary nature exposes the students to the broader issues related to systems engineering, and provides them with invaluable experience.

The long-term objective of initiating this project is to have a sustainable framework for providing long-term training, research and development competences in the UAE. The two participating organizations are Masdar Institute of Science and Technology (MI), which is a graduate-level, research-focused university, and the American University of Ras Al Khaimah (AURAK), which has a primary focus on undergraduate training. The vision is to develop an integrated continuity program based on active collaboration in aerospace education and research with the aim of contributing active UAE national workforce to the ambitious space program in the UAE. Specific long-term aims include gathering support for the development of new graduate and undergraduate degree programs in aerospace engineering at the participating institutes in addition to research labs.

In addition to the primary mission objective, the project has a mandated requirement to provide public outreach and educational opportunities. The project aims to engage the public at all stages of the development and production processes, in addition to disseminating project and data information in publications and conference proceedings. The project team would also seek speaking opportunities at schools and other public events.

Team 

# Name Major Email
1 Aisha Khalid El Allam Computer Science aisha.elallam@aurak.ac.ae
2 Shadi Ben Abderrahman Computer Engineering shadi.abderrahman@aurak.ac.ae
3 Haya AlAjjal Industrial Engineering haya.alajjal@aurak.ac.ae
4 Shaikha Alqassimi Industrial Engineering shaikha.alqassimi@aurak.ac.ae
5 Aala AlTeneiji Electronics and Communication Engineering aala.alteneiji@aurak.ac.ae
6 Rashed Jamal Abujarad Electronics and Communication Engineering rashed.abujarad@aurak.ac.ae
7 Basel Refaat Altawil Mechanical Engineering basel.altawil@aurak.ac.ae
8 Shamma Esmaeel Jamali Mechanical Engineering shamma.jamali@aurak.ac.ae
9 Maryam Saeed Alnuaimi Electronics and Communication Engineering m.alnuaimi@aurak.ac.ae
10 Fatema Rashed AlAyyan Electronics and Communication Engineering fatema.alayyan@aurak.ac.ae
11 Ahmed Aadel Ali Yousef Al-Ali Mechanical Engineering ahmed.alali@aurak.ac.ae
12 Ahmed Mohammed Al Blooshi Mechanical Engineering ahmed.alblooshi@aurak.ac.ae
13 Raouf Reda Elashry Electronics and Communication Engineering raouf.alashry@aurak.ac.ae
14 Fatima Ayman Aly Electronics and Communication Engineering fatma.ramadan@aurak.ac.ae
15 Nouf Mohammed Ali Alteneiji Industrial Engineering nouf.alteneiji@aurak.ac.ae
16 Hamda Ali Al Shehhi Industrial Engineering hamda.alshehhi@aurak.ac.ae

Follow AURAK on:

Facebook   Tweeter   Youtube     Linked in   Location